i looked at her across the way

I looked at her across the way
golden ropes laced into her fine hair
curls pushed back precisely
exposing a maiden’s painted cheeks
she caught my stare
un-aware of eyes looking down
I remember a breeze
yet in my mind
she remains still
a pencil’s sketch
beautiful
her eyes so clear glancing up for a moment
catching glimpse of what I thought was me
but as the black winged bird passes I realize it was not
too hopeful I supposed her glance had reached mine
the thought that she might catch my gaze
and send a smile towards the heavens for me to glisten my cheeks
all of this and little did she know
she had caught the eyes of an angel

Leave a Reply

